Cooking with Cait : Vegan Mocha Chocolate Raspberry Cake

IMG_8177 copy

Well, I’ve come up with a name for my recipe features. It’s a little cliche, but it’s hard to beat that alliteration!

This Friday the 13th was my dear housemate Gabriela’s 21st birthday. Naturally I decided to make something to help celebrate. I decided on a cake and adapted this Martha Stewart cake with the addition of raspberries, and a few more unexpected changes along the way.

YOU WILL NEED

FOR THE CAKE
3 cups unbleached white flour
2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
2 cups natural cane sugar
3/4 cup canola oil
4 teaspoons instant espresso powder dissolved in 1 cup water. (I used the Turkish Grind Setting to make my own)
4 teaspoons vanilla extract
4 tablespoons  apple cider vinegar

ICING

1oz bittersweet chocolate
1oz 80% or higher dark chocolate
1/2 cup vegan margarine
3 cups powdered sugar, sifted
1/2 teaspoon instant espresso powder
1/2 teaspoon crushed, dried raspberries
2 tablespoons soy cream
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Raspberry Jam

LET’S GET STARTED

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees as you begin to prepare the cake.

Using a large mixing bowl sift your dry ingredients together.

IMG_8174 copy 2

In a smaller bowl combine, the wet ingredients save for the vinegar and whisk in with the dry.

At this point, your cake batter should look like this

IMG_8175 copy 2

At this point I got so into my baking that I stopped taking pictures entirely, my apologies.

Now you can add the vinegar and stir quickly, it’s important for the reaction to take place throughout the entire batter, so the cake adequately rises.

Line your 9 inch cake pans with a light layer of canola oil and pour equal amounts of batter into into them. Bake for 30 minutes.

As your cake bakes, and subsequently cools you can begin to prepare your icing.

Melt the chocolate and allow it to cool to room temperature. Combine these with your other ingredients in a large mixing bowl and whisk until it achieves the desired consistency.

Here is where your cake and mine will probably differ. I’ve retroactively adjusted the recipe because my cake turned out too wet and fell apart. This lead to my piecing together a second layer and covering said layer in icing which leads to the cake you see in the photos.

Shall we continue?

Add a thin layer of raspberry jam to one side of each cake layer, then cover the jam with a layer of icing. Place the two layers together, decorate and serve!

Enjoy!

IMG_8180 copy

2 responses to “Cooking with Cait : Vegan Mocha Chocolate Raspberry Cake

  1. That looks delicious! Rasberries and chocolate go so well together. Good choice.

  2. Thank you! I asked my housemate her favourite flavours and she came up with this so I combined a known recipes and my memories of homemade birthday cakes.

Leave a Reply

