Thoughts on Blogging

 

It’s Sunday night, and my brain is very busy.

When I was thinking about how I would define this blog, I placed it under the “blog genre” of lifestyle blogging. I’ve been thinking about this because a snarky favourite of mine the forum “Get Off My Internets” describes lifestyle blogging as

“You don’t know how to live, they can help”

I would like to state for the record that most of the time I have no clue what I’m doing.

My last post, a cake recipe, shows my second attempt at that cake (as my instagram followers probably already know) in two days. When I went to pick up ingredients, my anxiety levels were through the roof because sometimes I find grocery stores overwhelming.

Our blogs are like our lives, some things we choose to share, and others we hide. For me, this blog focuses on the good things, the lessons I’ve learned and the things I have made.

I want to create a brighter spot on the internet, the way that writing this blog has made my life a little brighter. This blog doesn’t gloss over the bad days; I want you to know they happen, but I’ve learned that dwelling on them outside of phone calls home or therapy sessions doesn’t make them any easier.

I tried to write a manifesto before I started this blog, I don’t think I’ll ever post it, but I do like this quote.

“I believe in living ethically, truthfully and beautifully.”

I’m going to continue to work at it.

PS. I would like to thank the fantastic people at effyeahnerdfighters for featuring my doormat DIY post. If you’ve found my blog through them, I would love to hear from you!

2 responses to “Thoughts on Blogging

  1. What a great goal. I really enjoyed this post.

  2. Thank you! I really am just trying to set goals and stick with them!

Leave a Reply

