All Pumpkin Everything

This passing Sunday marked the first day of fall.

Autumn is by far my favourite season; the changing weather makes everything especially beautiful and crisp, and it’s just cold enough to still enjoy getting cosy.

For me, cosiness means a good story, something to nibble on and a warm drink. It being fall of course, means that everything should be pumpkin flavoured.

Today I’m going to share a Vegan Pumpkin Bread and a Vegan Pumpkin Spice Latte recipe. Hope you enjoy!

First … The Pumpkin Bread!

_MG_8359 copy

Unfortunately, I was missing a proper loaf pan, so this does look more like a cake. But I assure you that this is much more savoury and spicy than it is sweet.

YOU WILL NEED

  • 1 3/4 cups flour
  • 1 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • ½ tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ½ tsp cinnamon
  • ½ tsp ground allspice
  • ¼ tsp  ground cloves
  • 1 cup pumpkin pie filling
  • ½ cup oil – ( I used Sunflower Oil)
  • 3 Tbsp maple syrup
  • 3 Tbsp water
  • ½ cup chopped walnuts
  • ½ cup chopped pumpkin seeds

LET’S BAKE BREAD

Preheat your over to 350, then grease and flour your loaf pan.

Mix together your dry ingredients – flour, sugar, salt, spices, baking powder & soda.

In another bowl, whisk together the wet ingredients – pumpkin, syrup, oil and water.

Pour the wet ingredients into the larger bowl and mix well. Fold in your nuts and seeds.

Add the batter to your loaf pan, and sprinkle with pumpkin seeds. Bake for around 45 minutes.

Once cooled you can add the optional spicy sugar dusting. Simply combine a pinch of all the spices used in the cake with icing sugar and dust overtop.

_MG_8357 copy

LET’S MAKE A LATTE

VNJDSK

As this petition on change.org shows, people are really passionate about their pumpkin spice lattes, and getting them veganized.

Now I don’t want to brag, but I really do prefer the taste of this latte, made with natural ingredients and a “true” pumpkin taste.

YOU WILL NEED

  • 2oz Strong Coffee or Espresso
  • 14oz Milk of Your Choice (I used unsweetened almond milk)
  • 2 Tbsp Pumpkin Pie Filling
  • 1 Tbsp Raw Sugar
  • Cinnamon, Nutmeg, Allspice and (optional) Cayenne Pepper to taste.

In the bottom of your cup add the pumpkin puree, sugar and spices.

Mix in your piping hot coffee and warm milk and “blend” well. I use my handheld milk foamer from IKEA but you could also use a small whisk or even a fork.

Top with cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice or anything else you fancy and enjoy!

How are you enjoying the new season? Are you making pumpkin treats or sick to death of “All Pumpkin Everything All The Time”?

One response to “All Pumpkin Everything

  1. Growing up I was always a summer girl – maybe partly because I was biased by my birthday – but these days I enjoy Fall because of the changing leaves and of course pumpkin. Although I have to say I have pumpkin year round. It’s always a shock to buy wool sweaters (more expensive) as opposed to cotton tees though in terms of keeping my budget. Love the recipes can’t wait to try the loaf!

Leave a Reply

